Home >> States

UP bypolls: SP takes lead in both Gorakhpur and Phulpur, CM Yogi's reputation at stake

Counting of votes for the Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha bye-elections began on Wednesday amid tight security arrangements. The results are expected to be declared by afternoon.

Ten nominees were in the fray from Gorakhpur, while 22 candidates contested from Phulpur.

Causing major flutter in BJP camp, after 8th round of counting, Samajwadi Party (SP) is leading in Gorakhpur with 10598 votes. The Gorakhpur seat was vacated by CM Yogi Aditynath and losing here will be a big dent to his reputation.

After 10th round of counting for Phulpur, SP further consolidated it's position, they are leading by a margin of 14299 votes from BJP.

In Gorakhpur, after first round of counting BJP 's Upendra Shukla was leading with 1,666 votes.

Shukla was polled 15,577 votes, while SP's Praveen Nishad had got 13,911 votes till then.

Counting of votes for Phulpur lok sabha constituency commenced at Mundera Mandi of Allahabad amdist tight security.

After the first round of counting of all the five assembly segments, Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel of the SP was leading by a margin of 2477 votes from his nearest rival Kaushlendra Singh Patel of the BJP in Phulpur bypolls.

Atiq Ahamad, who had contested as an independent candidate had got 215 votes after second round of counting.

Phulpur parliamentary seat constitutes of five assembly seats of Allahabad including Phulpur, Phaphamau, Soraon, Allahabad North and Allahabad West.

According to the EC, there are 19.61 lakh voters in the Phulpur Parliamentary constituency, while the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat has 19.49 lakh voters.

The bypolls were necessitated after Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya vacated the Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha seats respectively, following their election to the state legislative council.