Home >> States

Tamil Nadu crisis live: MPs Senguttuvan, Jeyasingh extend support to O Panneerselvam

Amidst raging revolt in the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, another blow has been dealt to Sasikala as two more Members of Parliament extended their support to Tamil Nadu's caretaker chief minister, O Panneerselvam, on Sunday.

MPs B Senguttuvan and J Jeyasingh extended their support and met Panneerselvam at his residence.

Former AIADMK MP Ramarajan also met OPS to extend his support.

On Saturday, an MLA and 4 MPs of AIADMK joined Panneerselvam after deserting Sasikala who threatened to hold a protest on Sunday while targeting Governor Ch Vidyasagar Rao for the delay in swearing her in as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu.

11:49 AM

AIADMK Perambalur MP RP Marutharaja present at Panneerselvam's residence.

11:44 AM

Party members and supporters at Panneerselvam's residence in Chennai to felicitate him.

11:39 AM

Sasikala wrote a letter to Governor Vidyasagar Rao earlier in the day on Saturday, asking him to take steps immediately to swear her in at the earliest. She said she was ready to parade the party MLAs supporting her before him.

She told him she had on Thursday submitted an "elaborate presentation to invite me to form the government as I have absolute majority," besides the original letter and true copy of the resolution electing her as the AIADMK Legislature party leader.

"We waited till today. Tomorrow (Sunday), we will protest in another form," she said when asked to comment on the absence of response from the Governor even 48 hours after she staked claim to form the government.

11:36 AM

On Saturday, Sundaram and Ashok Kumar, Lok Sabha members from Namakkal and Krishnagiri, respectively extended their support to Panneerselvam. Later in the evening, Sathyabama and Vanaroja, representing Tiruppur and Tiruvannamalai constituencies in the Lok Sabha, also came out in support of Panneerselvam, saying he enjoys the support of the people. Rajya Sabha MP V Maitreyan has already extended support to Panneerselvam.

Party veteran C Ponnaiyan, party spokesman and minister in the MGR Cabinet, also drove to Panneerselvam's residence and offered his support. A former minister M M Rajendra Prasad also joined the Chief Minister's camp.

Sathyabama said, "A priest, though venerable, cannot become God, and similarly nobody can become Amma." She accused Sasikala of favouring those who were "rejected" by late Jayalalithaa. "Today, those were rejected by Amma are holding big positions there (Sasikala group)," Satyabama said, flanked by Panneerselvam and other leaders of his faction.

After these switchovers, Panneerselvam camp has seven MLAs, including him. In the 235-member Tamil Nadu Assembly, AIADMK has 135 MLAs.