Home >> Entertainment

Queen, Haider win big at IIFA 2015

Vishal Bhardwaj's 'Haider' and Vikas Bahl's 'Queen' took away big trophies at the IIFA Awards held in Kuala Lumpur on 7th June, including the best actor award for Shahid Kapoor and best actress trophy for Kangana Ranaut.

Shahid-Shraddha Kapoor starrer Kashmir set drama 'Haider' and 'Queen,' a middle class girl's self-discovery journey after getting ditched by her fiance took three honors each.

Tabu's portrayal of Shahid's mother in the movie won her the best supporting actress award, while Kay Kay Menon's role of a politician bagged him the award for the best actor in a negative role.

On the other hand, Queen, a Viacom pictures and Phantom Films co-produced drama set in Paris and Amsterdam, won the award for best story and picture (Bahl, Parvez Shaikh and Chaitally Parmar) apart from the best actress trophy.

Anurag Kashyap, one of the foremen of Phantom Films, in a surprising gesture, expressed his love for fellow director Rajkumar Hirani, while receiving the best movie award for Queen.

Hirani won the best director award for Aamir Khan starrer 'PK,' a satire on Godmen, after beating Vishal ('Haider'), Bahl ('Queen'), Imtiaz Ali ('Highway') and Abhishek Varman ('2 States').

Deepika Padukone, who was nominated in the best actress category for her role as a dance teacher in 'Happy New Year,' took the woman of the year award.

Acclaimed director Subhash Ghai was conferred with the prestigious award 'Outstanding contribution to Indian cinema.' Riteish Deshmukh-starrer 'Ek Villain' won 3 awards. Riteish won the best supporting role for portraying a cold-blooded serial killer in the movie and Mohit Suri-directed thriller won the best playback singing (male) for Ankit Tiwari ('Galliyan') and best lyrics.

Arjun Kapoor-Alia Bhatt starrer '2 States,' which lead the nominations with 9 nods, had to settle with only one award in the best music direction category. 'Heropanti' stars Tiger Shroff and Kirti Sanon took home the best debut male and female category respectively. The best debut director award was shared by Sajid Nadiadwala for 'Kick' and Omung Kumar ('Mary Kom').