Home >> States

Nitish takes charge as Bihar CM, Lalu's son no.1 his deputy, son no. 2 his colleague

Janata Dal (United) party leader Nitish Kumar took oath as Bihar chief minister on a massive stage at Patna's Gandhi Maidan. RJD chief Lalu Yadav's son Tejashwi Yadav was the next to be sworn in, followed by his older brother Tej Pratap, both are first time lawmakers.

Nitish kept the home portfolio along with general administration and public relations. Tejashwi has been allotted the portfolio of road construction and later designated as deputy chief minister. Tej Pratap has been allotted the health department.

Senior RJD leader Abdul Bari Siddiqui got the portfolio of finance, whereas JD(U) leaders Rajiv Ranjan Singh and Bijendra Prasad Yadav were allotted the water resources and energy department, respectively.

In the Cabinet, JD(U) and RJD got twelve ministerial berths each and Congress four, including the human resources department for state chief Ashok Kumar Choudhary.

The new cabinet ministry has twenty first-timers with Nitish retaining only 4 - Shravan Kumar, Bijendra Prasad Yadav, Rajiv Ranjan Singh and Jay Kumar Singh - from his previous stint, largely due to political compulsions with the JD(U) placed second at the polls with 71 seats to RJD's 80.

The list of 28 ministers has 4 upper castes, 4 scheduled castes, 4 Muslims, 11 OBCs, 6 EBCs and 11 OBCs.

The RJD has nominated 6 Yadavs in its present quota of 12 ministers - the seventh Yadav is from JD(U) - and did not give a single berth to the upper castes.