Home >> States

Nitish Kumar wins Bihar Assembly floor test with 131 votes

The Nitish Kumar-BJP combine won the crucial floor test in the Bihar Assembly today with a convincing margin of 131 votes. The RJD-Congress combine got 108 votes.

Nitish-BJP needed 122 members' support for a win in the 243-member House. In the Bihar Assembly, the RJD has 80 MLAs, the Congress 27 and the CPI-ML three, which adds up to 110. The Opposition got three short of that total.

"Secularism should not be allowed to justify corruption," Nitish said earlier in the House, attempting to explain his shock resignation as CM and his break from the 'grand alliance' on Wednesday evening.

Nitish resigned as CM on Wednesday evening. A few hours later, the BJP and its allies told the Bihar governor they would support Nitish. He was sworn in chief minister yet again on Thursday morning.

Nitish ended weeks of speculation that the 'grand alliance' of the Congress, RJD and JD (U) will split, after the RJD's Tejashwi Yadav refused to quit after being named in a corruption case by the CBI.

The BJP's Sushil Modi, who was sworn in as deputy chief minister, thanked the Opposition RJD and Congress on Friday

"Would like to thank Congress and RJD, if Tejashwi had resigned I would not have been here," Modi said. He was referring to the man who held his post a scant two-and-a-half days ago.

The RJD said Nitish would have lost the trust vote "had there been a secret ballot".

"The mandate was for the 'grand alliance', today Nitish and the BJP have insulted that mandate,"said Tejashwi, the former deputy chief minister of the state, who ended up on the losing side.