Home >> States

JD(U) releases first list of 15 candidates from Bihar

JD(U) today released the first list of 15 candidates for Bihar and four other states, giving ticket to former bureaucrat K P Ramaiah from Sasaram against Lok Sabha Speaker and senior Congress leader Meira Kumar.

Sasaram is a reserved seat and BJP has fielded Sanjay Paswan from here. Ramaih, a former IAS officer had served in Bihar in various capacities and with him getting the JDU ticket the contest in Sasaram has become interesting.

Bihar Speaker Udai Narayan Chowdhary will contest the elections from from the reserved seat of Jamui, where he will challenge LJP chief Ram Vilas Paswan's son Chirag Paswan. For RJD, Sudhanshu Shekhar Bhaskar is in the fray.

While the BJP and BJP have forged an alliance, RJD is in alliance with Congress in Bihar.

The JDU is contesting on 38 of the 40 Parliamentary seats in the state and has given two tickers to its alliance partner CPI.

JDU President Sharad Yadav is set to contest the elections from Madhepura, his current Lok Sabha seats.