Home >> Politics

Lok Sabha polls 2014: Voting on for seven seats in four states

Lok Sabha polls 2014: Voting on for seven seats in four states

The fourth phase of polling for seven Lok Sabha seats in four states began today amid tight security.

In Tripura East (ST) Lok Sabha seat, additional 35 companies of security forces have been sent to keep law and order under control. A total of 12 candidates are in the fray from this seat, including CPI(M)'s Jitendra Chowdhury, who is the state industries minister, Congress' Sachitra Debbarma, a renowned educationist, BJP's Parkshit Debbarma, an ex-armyman, and Trinamool Congress leader Bhriguram Reang.

An electorate of 11,38,765, including 580497 men, are eligible to cast their votes which will take place at 1,490 polling stations, of which 18 have been identified as very sensitive and over 400 as sensitive.

In Assam, polling will take place at three Lok Sabha constituencies amid tight security. The three seats are - Autonomous District (ST), comprising Karbi Anglong and Dima Hasao districts, Karimganj (SC) and Silchar.

Security arrangement has been tightened up in the Karbi Anglong district under Autonomous District (ST) which witnessed a bandh called by the Karbi Peoples' Liberation Tigers till Friday.

A total of 29,26,762 voters will exercise their franchise today in 3,698 polling booths.

Of the 37 candidates in the fray in the three seats, three each belong to the Congress and BJP, two each to AGP, AIUDF, AAP, SUCI (Communist) and Samajwadi Party, one each to CPM, CPI-ML(L), Trinamool Congress, Shiv Sena and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha. The remaining 19 are independents.

In Karimganj (SC), there are 1504 polling stations, out of which 197 have been identified as highly sensitive and 567 as sensitive.

In Goa, polling for two Lok Sabha constituencies will take place today. The fight in this state is between the BJP, Congress and Aam Aadmi Party.

In North Goa, BJP's Shripad Naik is up against Congress' Ravi Naik, AAP's Dattaram Desai and CPI's Suhas Naik. Congress' Aleixo Reginaldo Lourenco is contesting against BJP's Narendra Sawaikar, AAP's Swati Kerkar and CPI's Raju Mangueshkar in South Goa constituency.

In Sikkim, voting for simultaneous Lok Sabha and assembly polls in Sikkim also started today. Election for lone Lok Sabha and 32 Assembly constituencies in the state started at 7am at all 538 polling stations across the state.